I never liked keeping journals. This always bugged me, because as a writer, I should have a journal. I should have dozens of notebooks filled with my life’s stories by now. Half a dozen blogs, even a LiveJournal later, nothing ever stuck. Maybe the moral here is my daily life doesn’t compare to fiction. Why write about myself when I can make up much more interesting characters?

That was true for a long while. Now, I can’t make this stuff up.

It’s all 2016’s fault. Everything was fine until – literally – New Year’s Day. I decided to buy a car. Why is this a big deal when I’m 27-years-old? Well, um, as a New Yorker, I got by for years without driving at all. I didn’t get my license until I was 24, and even then it must have been a belated Christmas miracle when the examiner passed me on December 26th that year. I’m talking like, an actual angel sitting next to me in the car and taking pity on my soul. I’m still not comfortable behind the wheel even though I’m now paying for the car and insurance every month. The plan was to practice constantly then bring it home from my aunt’s house, which is an hour away.

Let’s save that for another post.

Soon after, things started getting crazy at my job. Naturally, right? I finally buy a car and the big boss decides to retire? Oh yes, the company is closing after being in business for thirty years. I’ll be unemployed in a couple weeks tops, if that. Bright side here is I never would’ve bought the stupid car if I’d had any inkling of what was going on before I signed my life away. Also fortunately, that’s an exaggeration since I have enough savings to keep me going for a while. At the time I heard this I thought, well, unemployment sucks but at least I’ll have a car when I look for my new job.

Then I met with an orthopedic surgeon in March. This is also another post, but the highlights? I need two consecutive knee surgeries. My knees have always been bad and I wanted to get them fixed, but I thought it was just the one I didn’t have done ten years ago. Nope, both, one after the other.

So driving, and the new job, will have to wait until I’m all recovered in about six months.

blog1

This blog was created out of desperation. If I write down some of my thoughts here, maybe they won’t turn over and over in my mind during the day.

 

Leave a Reply

