“Adulting”

I’ll be the first to admit that I rely on my mom too much. While I never ask her for money, I do live at home, and she does help me with doctor-related stuff. Over the years I’ve started to make my own calls, but sometimes I still ask her to get on the phone with a doctor’s office because I’m insecure about people understanding me. (It took me forever to feel semi-confident answering phones at work.)

So I began thinking about this “adulting” phenomenon. I feel like twenty-somethings of the past didn’t talk about it the way we do, or exaggerate the little things such as calling up doctors to schedule an appointment. I frequently see similar posts on my social media pages. Is that part of the problem? Is the need to update pages so strong that we fill them with anything? Have we become a generation that makes mountains out of mole hills?

Is it the economy? We’re home with our parents, so we rely on them more. It always amazes me when I watch the first season of Friends and remember the main six are my age. The nearly-settled, independent lifestyle applies more to today’s thirty or thirty-five-year-olds.

Is it because we’re having babies later, if at all? (Most) New parents aren’t “adulting,” they’re simply “adults.”

Is it all of the above? Are we stuck in a time period where self-indulgence rules and living at home is an acceptable way of life?

I do realize that stereotype is just that. Some are running a business by twenty-seven while others have real challenges to overcome. I’m talking about those of us who feel “the adulting struggle is real” for various reasons. Has “the American dream” become less achievable, or is it us? I guess my point is that maybe it’s a combination of both.

 

 

 

One thought on ““Adulting”

  1. Important insights on the eternal youth (at least in behavior/expectations) of our generation. However, to what extent is our economy and even our parents themselves to blame? Most entry level jobs that provide self-sustaining income require a BA from accredited university, which takes a high school grad to (at least) 22 years to acquire. Health insurance extends to children from 26 to 29 years of age that attend college full-time. To what extent do parents look to baby their children due to this fact – or even justify doing so due to it?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

