Baking Day 2: The Return of Homemade Cupcakes

Now that summer’s over, I get very bored during the week. I’m steadier on my feet (again) so I’m trying to walk around the house more. Occasionally, when the mood strikes me, I cook or bake. I explained about this hobby in my previous Baking Day post. At the very least it forces me to move about the kitchen.

Not only did I want to make more cupcakes, I also wanted to prove a point. My mom prefers box mixes. To her, homemade attempts are always too “dense” and “dry” in comparison. Don’t take this the wrong way, because my family does bake during the winter holidays, and I’ll reiterate that my cousin is a pastry assistant. But for birthdays and smaller holidays through the year, Pillsbury Funfetti cake works just fine.

I like the boxed stuff too once in a while. I also believe in making things from scratch when you have the time and inclination for it. Since I did have the inclination for it this week, I set out to prove that homemade cupcakes can be light and fluffy.

Google results produced this recipe for “Perfect Moist and Fluffy Vanilla Cupcakes.” This sounded promising, and it calls for sour cream. How could it be dry?

So, I start to gather all ingredients, and as usual I’m missing one. Did you know you can substitute baking soda with triple the amount of baking powder? I do now. Learn something new every day.

I also separated egg whites for the first time. This was..interesting. Fortunately we only had four eggs so I couldn’t waste a whole carton. The first egg was a complete bust, entire yolk went in the bowl (I always crack eggs into separate bowls before adding them to the recipe). After putting that aside and getting a new bowl, I managed to get by with the last three. I realized it is very important to crack the egg in the middle so you have equal halves when shifting the yolk back and forth. Some yolk still ended up in the the bowl but again, I didn’t have anymore.

The spillage wasn’t too bad…

After saving the one egg white and four yolks for scrambled eggs, I followed the rest of the recipe. Fifteen cupcakes went in the oven and I crossed my fingers. Would there be too much baking powder? Would that troublesome yolk make a difference?

I wound up with this:

img_0756

I know, they look a little light, but I kept them in for twenty minutes and they passed the toothpick test. I worried extra baking time would take out some of the moisture.

After they cooled, I tried one…you know, quality control…

img_0757

Incredibly moist. Still a little more dense than box mix, but I don’t care. They’re sweet and delicious. If anything maybe next time I’ll  leave them in the oven a minute longer to brown the tops.

My mom’s verdict? “Did you save the recipe?” (Win!) I told her they were called “Perfect Moist and Fluffy Cupcakes,” and she said something to the effect of “they are that.” We agreed they didn’t need icing, but powdered sugar was a nice touch. When served like this they remind us of pound cake.

img_0758

Another successful Baking Day! Next week I’m thinking Pumpkin Spice Latte cupcakes, because who isn’t thinking of pumpkin?

2 thoughts on “Baking Day 2: The Return of Homemade Cupcakes

    • Thank you! I’m starting out with easy, straightforward cupcake recipes. Eventually I’ll work my way up to filling and icing. I might also alternate brownie and cookie recipes just so I don’t get sick of cupcakes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

