Family Time

It’s easy to feel out of the loop when you’re working full time. As someone who used to have afternoon tea with my mom and aunt at least once a week, working until five every day was a little isolating. Sometimes over a month would go by before I saw my cousins. At least I could still stay at my other aunt’s house once in a while and spend the weekend away while getting to hang out with my Staten Island relatives.

So the major bright side of being unemployed is that I can do whatever I want, which includes seeing my family more often. I can stay at my aunt’s house during the week and have tea on Friday afternoons. I like knowing what’s going on in their lives and just…being there. Eventually I will have more of my own stuff going on like everyone else, but for now, this works.

Leave a comment